This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are the zombie cupcakes I assembled.

WHAT I DID:

Baked cupcakes (I used devil’s food…seemed appropriate)

While the cupcakes were still warm, I injected them with “Pus” — a small tub of cool whip, 2 bricks of cream cheese, a tablespoon of vanilla and about a half a cup of sugar (may add more sugar to taste of course)  Whipped everything together till it was smooth and tasty.  Put it in a pastry bag  and injected about an ounce of “pus” into the center of the cupcakes.  If you wanted to make the cream filling more pus-like (or to resemble any other bodily fluid…or even zombie-flesh green), you could add some food coloring.

If the cupcakes crack, it’s for one of two reasons. Either you’ve got too much filling in the middle or you let them cool off too much.  If they’re still warm to the touch, then it’s definitely the former.

On the top of the cupcakes i put a thin layer of green frosting to resemble grass.

after topping with grass, I dipped the cupcakes in a mixture of Oreo crumbs, heath bar bits, and autumn leaf sprinkles.  This gave it a nice outdoorsy rocky soil look.

Then I put the decorations on top. I was able to locate some zombie hands, like in the original design, but then I also found some zombie finger puppets.  As you can see, they turned out quite nicely. I think I prefer the finger puppets to the zombie hands.

 

EDIT:  Added more photos to the slideshow of ZOMBIECUPCAKES 2.0…..less leaves and gravel, more bones….

